Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 43 Multidisciplinary Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alternative Press Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1991 - present
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alternative Press Index Archive FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1969 - 1990
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Periodicals Series ProQuest
Fulltext 1740 - 1940
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. etc.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
ArticleFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1990 - present
Indexes articles, news stories, letters and other items listed on the table of contents pages of journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Associates Programs Source EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Focuses on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Associations Unlimited Gale
Fulltext Current
Contains information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
Restricted to ODU
Biography Reference Bank WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext Historic and current
Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. It contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, and American Reformers. Also contains all citations from Biography Index Database after 1984.
Restricted to ODU
Books In Print - Global Books in Print
Selected Fulltext Covers current publishing
Accesses Bowker's Books In Print database of in-print, out-of-print and forthcoming books, audio books and videos that are available in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand. Includes many full-text reviews.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Consists of databases in mostly scientific fields including life sciences, environmental and aquatic sciences, computer sciences, materials sciences and engineering, aerospace, as well as social sciences and humanities.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ClasePeriodica FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities, and science and technology. Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Consumers Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1986 - present
Abstracts journal articles and links to Internet resources on consumerism and consumer protection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Dissertation Abstracts FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains author, title, and subject guide information for most American dissertations; contains a guide to theses since 1962 and abstracts for theses since 1980.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
Eighteenth Century Journals
Fulltext Coverage varies by periodical
Provides access to a wide variety of rare newspapers and periodicals for the study of all aspects of the eighteenth century. Collection I, covering 1693-1793, is from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Collection II, 1699-1812, is from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin.
Restricted to ODU
Factiva Dow Jones
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
FirstSearch FirstSearch
No Fulltext Varies by database
Group of databases covering science, social science, humanities and business.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Fuente Academica EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For some titles there may be a more recent edition in print format.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Global Books In Print
Fulltext Covers current publishing
Accesses Bowker's Books In Print database of in-print, out-of-print and forthcoming books, audio books and videos that are available in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand. Includes many full-text reviews.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Global NewsBank
Fulltext 1996 - present
Database name changed to Access World News as of July 2009.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV Collection is funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
MasterFILE Premier EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides access to general periodicals covering business, education, health, science and more, reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts, biographies, primary source documents, Magill Book Reviews, as well as an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
NewsBank Readex
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Ovid OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides a group of databases, including Biosis Previews, Evidence Based Medicine Reviews, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Philosopher's Index, and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford English Dictionary
Fulltext Current
Includes the electronic version of the 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, along with quarterly updates.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Journals (Oxford University Press)
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides searchable database of journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines, including many full text articles.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, plus more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1956 - present
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
UlrichsWeb
No Fulltext Current
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on periodicals published throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU
World Almanac FirstSearch
Fulltext 1998 - present
Contains biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts and statistics on a wide range of subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
WorldCat FirstSearch
No Fulltext Current
Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z