Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Databases starting with the letter P

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


PAIS Archive Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1915 - 1976
Comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, and provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PAIS International Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1972 - current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies and more, on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Pennsylvania Gazette Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1728 - 1800
Provides full text articles, news items, editorials, letters, etc. from The Pennsylvania Gazette, considered The New York Times of the 18th century. Also includes full-text of documents such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. Click on Search tab and select from the list of sources.
Restricted to ODU
Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1809 - 1870
Contains a listing of marriages, deaths and obituaries from the Village Record, published in West Chester, Pennsylvania. Included, however, is information about emigration patterns, customs and traditions, important events, medical history, biographical data, etc. Click on Search tab and select from the list of sources.
Restricted to ODU
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1819 - 1870
Contains full-text transcriptions of articles, advertisements, and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution. Click on Search tab and select from the list of sources.
Restricted to ODU
Philosopher's Index OVID
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Physical Education Index Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1970 - present
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press, featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PILOTS Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1871 - present
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Plant Science Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1994 - present
Abstracts the scientific literature on plant science. Major areas of coverage include: Physiology, Pathology, Environmental biology & pollution, Breeding, Agronomy & horticulture, Biotechnology, Diversity, Genetics, Taxonomy, Crop protection, Water & nutrients, Plants & medicine, Algae, lichens, mosses & ferns, Forestry, and Pest Control.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes journals published by SAGE and participating societies, covering such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies.
Restricted to ODU
Pollution Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Major areas of coverage include: Air Pollution, Marine Pollution, Freshwater Pollution, Sewage and Wastewater Treatment, Waste Management, Land Pollution, Toxicology and Health, Noise, Radiation, and Environmental Action.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Project Euclid Journals
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to independent and society journals in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
PsycARTICLES EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1894 - present
Contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides full text publications, including peer-reviewed journals, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PubMed (Medline and more)
Selected Fulltext 1950 - present
Contains biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Approximately 5,000 journals published in the United States and more than 80 other countries are currently indexed for MEDLINE, the largest component of PubMed, using NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Unrestricted

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z