Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 28 Physical Sciences Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


ACS Journals
Fulltext 1879 - present
Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
AIAA Electronic Library
Fulltext 1963 - present
Contains more than four decades of full-text technical information, including journal papers, meeting papers, standards and books, from all of the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Restricted to ODU
Applied Science Full Text WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to ODU
Aqualine Cambridge
No Fulltext 1960 - present
Focuses on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Articles are drawn from a source list of journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1971 - present
Abstracts journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BIOSIS Previews OVID
Selected Fulltext 1969 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
BIOSIS Previews Archive OVID
Selected Fulltext 1926 - 1968
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. Allows a maximum of 10 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Conference Papers Index Cambridge
No Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes conference papers, especially in the life, environmental, and aquatic sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environment Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more from domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
GEOBASE FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Covers worldwide research literature in physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
GeoRef Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1693 - present
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, including to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Restricted to ODU
GeoScienceWorld
Selected Fulltext Approximately 2000 - present
Includes peer-reviewed articles from high-impact journals in geoscience areas. GSW is integrated with GeoRef.
Restricted to ODU
Inspec Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1969 - present
Abstracts international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books from the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Knovel Library
Selected Fulltext Current
Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Oceanic Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts material from the worldwide technical literature pertaining to biological oceanography, ecology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation and communications, maritime law, desalination, ships and shipping, and marine biology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
OSTI - Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Selected Fulltext 1948 - current
The Office of Scientific and Technical Information delivers research results from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Search vast collections of DOE research results, find out about ongoing research projects, explore significant DOE discoveries, learn about DOE Nobel Prize Winners, access and search e-prints, sign up for alerts, find science conference papers and proceedings, connect with national laboratory education sites, and more.
Unrestricted
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Safety Science and Risk Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts the literature from the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational situations. Combines Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts and Risk Abstracts, which can be searched individually.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
SciFinder Scholar
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to various chemistry materials from Chemical Abstracts Service. SciFinder Scholar is available in the Reference area in Perry Library and available through download to on-campus computers. It is not available for use from off-campus computers.
Restricted to ODU
SPIN Database
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Hosted on the Scitation platform, the SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. Provides links to full-text articles for all of the AIP journals to which Perry Library subscribes online.
Restricted to ODU
TOXLINE Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1996 - Current
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and more on toxicology, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the National Library of Medicine from files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. (Contains no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.) A rolling 5-year database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Water Resources Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z