Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Databases starting with the letter S

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Safari Books Online ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides an e-reference library containing collections of emerging technology books, manuscripts, papers and instructional video, geared towards IT, software developers, web designers, system administrators and creative pros.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Safety Science and Risk Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Abstracts the literature from the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational situations. Combines Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts and Risk Abstracts, which can be searched individually.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SAGE Journals Online (SAGE Premier)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
Salud en Espanol EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides the Spanish version of Consumer Health Complete. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
SciFinder Scholar
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to various chemistry materials from Chemical Abstracts Service. SciFinder Scholar is available in the Reference area in Perry Library and available through download to on-campus computers. It is not available for use from off-campus computers.
Restricted to ODU
Senior High Core Collection WilsonWeb
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections. The Senior High Core Collection is the electronic version of Wilson's standard reference work "Senior High School Library Catalog ". Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1951
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history. Additional years are digitized monthly, and upon completion in 2008 will cover 1817-1980.
Restricted to ODU
SIAM Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to research journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Restricted to ODU
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Alexander_Street
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world’s diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1956 - present
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Social Services Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1979 - present
Abstracts current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Sociological Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Abstracts journal articles and other material on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SourceOECD
Selected Fulltext January 1998 - present
Contains statisticals databases, books and periodicals from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, including the series OECD Economic Surveys for the 30 member countries.
Restricted to ODU
SPIN Database
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Hosted on the Scitation platform, the SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) database includes bibliographic records and abstracts from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. Provides links to full-text articles for all of the AIP journals to which Perry Library subscribes online.
Restricted to ODU
SPORTDiscus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1800 - present
Offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
SpringerLINK
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals and individual documents in the scientific, technical & medical (STM) fields. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996. Includes the former Kluwer Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
STAT-USA
Fulltext Coverage varies by report
Provides access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government. It is comprised of State of the Nation , covering current and historical federal economic and financial data, and GLOBUS & NTDB which contains current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, and country analysis.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z