Information
Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 35 Social Sciences Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


AccuNet AP Multimedia Archive
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Alternative Press Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1991 - present
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alternative Press Index Archive FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1969 - 1990
Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
America's Historical Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1922
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of five series of Early American Newspapers: Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922 and Series 5, 1777-1922.
Restricted to ODU
Anthropological Index Online
No Fulltext 1957 - present
Indexes the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
Restricted to ODU
Arts and Humanities Citation Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts Cambridge
No Fulltext 1987 - present
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently contains records from journals published in many different countries, including the UK and US.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary Women's Issues FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1992 - present
Indexes articles and other material from journals, books, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies on women in many countries. Other database options are Women's Studies International and Gender Studies Database from EBSCOhost, both with selected full-text.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Restricted to ODU
Criminal Justice Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1968 - present
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Restricted to ODU
Early American Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1922
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. The five series form the database titled 'America's Historical Newspapers': Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; and Series 5, 1777-1922.
Restricted to ODU
Essay and General Literature Index WilsonWeb
No Fulltext 1985 - present
Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science and history to criticism of literary works, drama and film.
Restricted to ODU
Gender Studies Database EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Restricted to ODU
GEOBASE FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Covers worldwide research literature in physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1543-1945
Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800's by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Restricted to ODU
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Fulltext Colonial times - present
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Restricted to ODU
ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Selected Fulltext Historic and current
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR's data holdings, divided into 17 broad subject areas, are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization, with over 640 member colleges and universities around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
NCJRS Abstracts Database
Selected Fulltext Early 1970's - present
Contains publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
Unrestricted
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions.
Unrestricted
PAIS Archive Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1915 - 1976
Comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, and provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PAIS International Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1972 - current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies and more, on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Alexander_Street
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world’s diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science
Selected Fulltext 1956 - present
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Social Services Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1979 - present
Abstracts current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Sociological Abstracts Cambridge
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses articles on such subjects as anthropology, economic development, economics, education, planning theory, policy analysis, political science, public administration, sociology and urban policy.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) as part of the ISI Web of Knowledge.
Restricted to ODU
Women's Studies International EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
World News Connection
Fulltext 1995 - present
Contains fulltext translations of political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books from around the world. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z