DOVE (Desegregation of Virginia Education logo

Desegregation of
Virginia Education (DOVE) Project

DOVE Regional Task Forces
Contact information, survey tools, repositories and databases to survey

Map of Dove Regions

Region 1: Southwest (Appalachian), Chair: Aaron Purcell, Virginia Tech,, (540) 231-9672

Cities: Bristol, Galax, Norton, and Radford.
Counties: Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and Wythe.

Region 2: Southside, Chair: Lucious Edwards, Virginia State University,, (804) 524-5749

Cities: Danville, Emporia, Franklin, Hopewell, Martinsville, Petersburg, and South Boston.
Counties: Amelia, Appomattox, Brunswick, Campbell, Charlotte, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Halifax, Henry, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, Prince Edward, Prince George, Southampton, and Sussex.

Region 3: Hampton Roads, Chair: Charles Ford, Norfolk State University,, (757) 823-8344

Cities: Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach.
Counties: Isle of Wight.

Region 4: Greater Tidewater (Peninsula, Middle Peninsula, Northern Neck), Co-Chairs: Diane Jordon,; Bea Hardy, College of William and Mary,, (757) 221-3054

Cities: Williamsburg.
Counties: Charles City, Essex, Gloucester, James City, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northumberland, Richmond, Surry, Westmoreland, and York.

Region 5: Central Piedmont, Chair: Brian Daugherity, Virginia Commonwealth University,, (804) 828-4498

Cities: Colonial Heights, Fredericksburg, and Richmond.
Counties: Buckingham, Caroline, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Fluvanna, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, Louisa, New Kent, Orange, Powhatan, and Spotsylvania.

Region 6: Northern Virginia, Chair: Bob Vay, George Mason University,, 703-993-9513

Cities: Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park, and Winchester.
Counties: Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Loudoun, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Stafford, and Warren.

Region 7: Western (Valley and Blue Ridge), Chair: TBD

Cities: Bedford, Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Clifton Forge, Covington, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Lynchburg, Roanoke, Salem, Staunton, and Waynesboro.
Counties: Albemarle, Alleghany, Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin, Greene, Highland, Madison, Nelson, Page, Rappahannock, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, and Shenandoah.

Region 8: Eastern Shore, Chair: TBD

Counties: Accomack and Northampton.

Out of state repositiories with known Virginia holdings:


Survey Tools

DOVE Brochure - PDF file

An online tutorial How to Conduct a Records Survey is now available.

Revised: 1/5/12