Old Dominion University Libraries
Link to print-friendly version

ENGN 811 - Research Methods

librarian picture
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Off Campus Login
Remote access to many electronic resources (databases, journals, etc.) is limited to currently registered students, faculty and staff of ODU. Enter your complete campus email address as the username and your 8 digit University ID Number (UIN) as the password.

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan Services
Request books and articles. First time users click "Click here if you are a first time user" to complete the form and create a username and password.

Engineering Subject Guide
Provides links to Engineering databases and contact information for the Engineering Librarian.

Key Resources



Databases- Find Articles
  • Engineering Databases
  • Engineering Village
    Contains the Compendex (1969-present), Ei Backfile (Engineering Index from 1884-1968), GEOBASE (1973-present), Inspec (1969-present) and Inspec backfile (1896-1968) databases for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
  • Web of Science
    Provides access to the online version of Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present(includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Recordas part of the ISI Web of Knowledge. For more information, consult the Web of Science Tutorial.
  • Science Direct
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
  • Business Databases
  • Business Source Complete
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles.
  • ABI/Inform Global
    Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Access to information on over 60,000 companies with business and executive profiles.
  • Emerald Management Xtra
    Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
  • Science Direct
    Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Using EndNote
  • EndNote@Old Dominion University Libraries
    EndNote is a tool for acquiring, organizing and managing citations. This library page will give you access to the EndNote software program download, EndNote handouts and instruction.
  • EndNote Workshop Tutorial Handout
    Provides detailed instructions on using EndNote. See page 3 for more information regarding exporting citations from library databases directly into EndNote.
Finding Books & Dissertations
  • Knovel Library
    Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
  • Safari Books Online
    Provides an e-reference library containing collections of emerging technology books, manuscripts, papers and instructional video, geared towards IT, software developers, web designers, system administrators and creative pros. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
  • Dissertations & Theses Full Text
    Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.


Page Coordinator: Miriam Bridges mbridges@odu.edu
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=134
RSS feed of this page