Old Dominion University Libraries
Link to print-friendly version

MKTG 411 - Marketing

librarian picture
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Off Campus Login
Remote access to many electronic resources (databases, journals, etc.) is limited to currently registered students, faculty and staff of ODU. Enter your complete campus email address as the username and your 8 digit University ID Number (UIN) as the password.

Country Profiles & Reports
  • Library Databases

  • Europa World Plus
    Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
  • Find Country Reports
    1. In the right hand corner, Click on "Select a country then press GO" pull down menu to select your country.
  • IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
    Includes all the information from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, which analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. It covers countries and regional economies using 331 criteria, grouped into 4 main factors: economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.
  • Find Country Information
    1. Under Countries tab, select your country
    2. Click on the criteria(Economic Performance, Government Efficiency, Business Efficiency and Infrastructure) to find specific statistical data .
  • Business Searching Interface
    Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and country reports.
  • Find country profiles and Industry profiles by country
    1. Click on Advanced Search tab.
    2. On the right hand side under Browse click on Country Reports
    3. In the Browse for: box type in your country they click Browse.
  • Find Industry Profiles by Country
    1. Click on Advanced Search tab
    2. On the right hand side under Browse click on Industry Reports Industry Report.
    3. In the Browse for: box type in your country they click Browse.
  • Mergent Online
    Find in-depth Country reports, includes economic overview & figures, geography, history, people, demographics,government overview and infrastructure overview.
  • Find Country Reports
    1. Under Country Profile, use the pull down menu and select your Country. A PDF document will open automatically
  • Websites

    • Doing Business
      "Sponsored by the World Bank, this databases provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement. Indicators cover topics such as starting a business, employing workers, paying taxes, getting credit, and more.
      • Find Country Reports
      • In the upper right hand corner go to "Select an economy" using the pull down menu highlight your country.
    • Nation Master
      "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease."
    • World Factbook
      Provides basic data and profiles on foreign nations, including geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation and military. Published by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
Locating Articles
Use to find specific articles about your country. Search example: Poland and bottled water or Poland and automobile industry or Poland and retail industry.
  • Business Searching Interface
    Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and country reports.
  • Factiva
    Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
  • Business Source Complete
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Searching Tips and Citation

Page Coordinator: Miriam Bridges mbridges@odu.edu
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=140
RSS feed of this page