Old Dominion University Libraries
Link to print-friendly version

Creating a Data Management Plan

A Data Management Plan (DMP) is the part of a grant proposal where researchers describe the types of data they will collect and how they plan to maintain and share that data. All NSF grants and now many from other federal funding agencies require DMPs. The University Libraries has teamed up with the Office of Research and the Office of Computing and Communication Services (OCCS) to provide faculty with guidance in preparing a DMP.


Old Dominion University Data Management Plan Guidance Document
This document includes a set of questions to consider when preparing a DMP. Investigators can answer the questions that are most relevant to their research project and then develop their answers further using the outline included in the guidance document.


DMP Tool
DMPTool is an online tool developed to help researchers generate, manage, store, and share their data management plans. It helps create ready to use plans for individual funding bodies, displays funder requirements, includes funder templates, and provides step-by-step instructions on DMP's as they are being created. Saved data management plans can be edited, updated and reused. Links to ODU-specific information on DMPís is also available on DMPTool.

To get started, go to DMPTool and choose Old Dominion University from the institution list. Login using your MIDAS user name and password.

For questions about DMPTool, please contact George Fowler at gfowler@odu.edu


About the NSF requirement for Data Management Plans

  • As of January 2011, all National Science Foundation grants require a "Data Management Plan" section. This section should be no more than two pages and should describe what data will be collected, how it will be maintained, and how it will be shared.
    • NSF Policy on Dissemination and Sharing of Research Results
      This site includes information about the NSF's policy on data sharing. It also includes links to information about the Data Management Plan, including the specific requirements by Directorate, Office, Division, Program, or other NSF Unit.

      DMPTool also includes lists of requirements, guidelines and documentation from NSF and other funding organizations.
About the NIH Data Sharing Policy

  • NIH has had a data sharing requirement in place since 2003 for grant proposals seeking more than $500,000.
Where can I find a guide to creating a Data Management Plan?

  • The ODU Libraries, Office of Research, and OCCS have created a Data Management Plan Guidance Document (.docx) to help with DMP development.

    For more information, below are links to some of the best guides and DMP websites from other universities:
Where can I find examples of Data Management Plans?

  • The NSF Data Management Plan requirement is still new, so there are not definitive examples of what a good plan looks like.

    For NSF DMP samples from ODU PI's (who have submitted this year and agreed to share their work), contact the grant writer assigned to your college.

    Some examples are also available from the following sources:
Who can I contact at ODU for more help?
  • ODU Office of Research Staff
    This page includes contact information for Office of Research staff, including grant writers who can help answer questions about data management requirements.

    For questions regarding Intellectual Property contact Brent Edington, Director of Licensing and Patents, at 757-683-5052 or email bedingto@odu.edu
    For questions regarding Research Compliance, contact Adam Rubenstein, Director of Research Compliance, at 757-683-3686 or email arubenst@odu.edu
  • Library Subject Specialists
    This page includes the contact information for ODU's Reference Librarians, each of whom specializes in specific disciplines and can help with questions related to data management plans.


This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=163
RSS feed of this page