Old Dominion University Libraries
Link to print-friendly version

Historical Documents
100 Milestone Documents
Contains laws, inaugural speeches, treaties, constitutional amendments, and other documents that have influenced the course of United States history from 1776 to 1965. Compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration.

A Century of American Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents
Contains laws, inaugural speeches, treaties, constitutional amendments, and other documents that have influenced the course of United States history from 1776 to 1965. Compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Provides full text historical documents by century. The project was created by Yale Law School's Avalon project in law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government; original documents are also enhanced with links to supporting documentation.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Provides free, permanent, public access to a core group of current and historical Government publications that contain information which is vital to the democratic process and critical to an informed electorate.

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention
Contains documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
A partnership of the United States Government Printing Office, The United States Commission on Civil Rights and the Thurgood Marshall Law Library (University of Maryland), this site provides access to the historical record of the Commission on Civil Rights in page image (PDF) format.

ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), Congressional Hearings (1824-2003) and the Serial Set (1789-1980). When complete, the Serial set will be available through 2003.

Page Coordinator: Nancy Schafer nschafer@odu.edu
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=37
RSS feed of this page