Off Campus Access
When you select an electronic resource (database, journal, etc.) from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your campus email address (including the @odu.edu) and your student ID number. Use your 8 digit University ID Number (UIN). For more detailed information, click here.
(To request books and articles that are not available at ODU Libraries)
Users must first register as an ODU patron, then select the type of item you wish to request, and fill in as much information as you know about the requested item.
ODU Library Catalog
To find books, government documents, or videos. Watch this short video to refresh your search skills!
Use this search to check for access to a specific journal. Remember to search on the journal title, not the article title. Confused? Watch this!
These databases will be good starting points to search for articles on your topic. Need a refresher on creating a search strategy? Watch this short video.
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
- NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
Contains abstracts of publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials. Many have links to full text.
- Academic Search Complete
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. New Feature--JStor now offers access to Early Journal Content(pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).
- Project Muse
Provides full text of articles and books in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press. Use the Search Guide to improve your results.
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database. NOTE: The EBSCO version of this database is no longer available.
- Science Direct
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Research Methodology Resources
- Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses articles on such subjects as anthropology, economic development, economics, education, planning theory, policy analysis, political science, public administration, sociology and urban policy.
Statistics & Data Resources
- Sage Reference Online
Provides access to 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
- ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR's data holdings, divided into 17 broad subject areas, are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization, with over 640 member colleges and universities around the world. First time users must create an account.
- American FactFinder
Contains population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Decennial Census, Economic Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Population Estimates Program of the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
- Green Book
Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics including poverty, families with children, child support and the elderly. Chapters of the new 2008 Green Book are released on the House Committee on Ways and Means website as they become available.
Citation Style Guides
- Social Indicators
International statistics complied by the United Nations including contraceptive use, education, health, housing, literacy, water supply and sanitation.
- Citing Information
Offers many detailed examples of citations using APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, and CBE Citation Style. Also gives advice on avoiding plagiarism. From UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries.
Other Helpful Guides
- APA Style-University of Wisconsin
Provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2010). These materials will introduce you to APA documentation and show you examples which you can use as templates for citing your own references.
Page Coordinator: Nancy Schafer firstname.lastname@example.org
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=73