Analysis of Environment
Trends, current information & news, industry reports
- IBISWorld
Access IBISWorld Industry Market Research reports providing data on key statistics, industry structure and analysis, and factors that affect the industry.
- Search by:
- 5-digit NAICS code
- keyword, ex. energy drink
- OR Company name
Find Business Environment reports: Click on Business Environment tab. Data and analysis on 300 key economic, demographic and consumer indicators that impact industry.
- Business Source Complete
Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and SWOT analysis.
- Overview of US Economy
GDP by industry, GDP by State, Personal Income, International Investment and Trade, from the Bureau of Economic Analysis
- Economy at a Glance
Unemployment, Consumer Price Index, both national and state-level data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Market Description
Market size, segments, share and competitors.
- Mintel Reports
Provides access to U.S. and international market and consumer research through reports, data, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as opinions and comments from Mintel's analysts.
- Find Market Research Reports
- Click Advanced Search at the top of screen
- Type in a keyword or company name
- Under Country select US
- Under "Select Results for Reports In Your Subscription", click on relevant report
- Business Source Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- IBISWorld
Contains statistics, descriptions of markets, segments, industry conditions, factors affecting performance and key competitors.
- Sports Market Place Directory
Provides current key information about the people, organizations and events involving the explosive sports industry.
- LexisNexis Academic
Find public and private companies, can limit search by NAICS and geographic area.
- Create Company List
- Click Business tab at the top of screen
- Click Dossier Create A Company List
- Mergent Online
Search D&B Private Company Database(private) and/or USA Company Database(Active)
- Create Company List
- Click Advanced Search tab at the top of screen
- Click D&B Private Company Database and/or USA Company Database(Active)
- Use the Corporate Information and/or Industry Codes tabs to select criteria and build your search.
- Click Submit, then click View to see results list.
- Local Competitors - Websites
- SuperPages
Yellow pages directory search, limit search by zip code
- Google Maps
Search for local businesses by key word and zip code
- Business Source Complete
Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and SWOT analysis.
- Factiva
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Buyer Behavior
Profile of buyers
- Mintel Reports
Provides access to U.S. and international market and consumer research through reports, data, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as opinions and comments from Mintel's analysts.
- Find Market Research Reports
- In the top right hand corner search box, type in a keyword, company name, or brand name
- Use All Countries pull down menu and select US, then hit Enter
- Under "Select Results for Reports In Your Subscription", click on a relevant report
- LexisNexis Academic
The American Marketplace - American Marketplace draws on scores of government sources into 11 chapters covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth.
- Find The American Marketplace
- Click Sources
- Click Find Sources and type The American Marketplace
- Under Country select US
- Click Find Sources, select title then click OK-Continue to see results.
- New American FactFinder
Data from Census 2010 and 2000. Contains population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Decennial Census, Economic Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Population Estimates Program of the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Virginia Community Profiles
These documents feature a wealth of information including demographic, economic, and educational data. Find information by county, city and work investment area.
- LMI Data: Population Projections
The population projections team at the Virginia Employment Commission have produced updated (rev. 2007) data for all localities in Virginia.
- LMI Tools
Data and maps on Virginia industry, Labor Force, Demographics and Indicators.
- U.S. Economy at a Glance
Data from the Bureau of Economic Analysis, includes Regional data such as Local Area Personal Income and GDP by MSA.
- CityData
Find detailed demographic information by state, city or ZIP code, use Business Search to find business by keyword and ZIP code
- CityMelt
Demographic data by zip code. Use slider feature to narrow your geographic by demographic criteria.
- PRIZM Market Segmentation
Nielsen's lifestyle segmentation systems define every neighborhood in the U.S. in terms of distinct lifestyle types using ground-breaking segmentation techniques. You can get a first look at your neighborhood using the MyBestSegments ZIP Code Look-up.
- Library Resources (In Perry Library)
- The Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics – REF HA 203.S67 2003
Includes spending potential indices, income, population change, and population composition by zip code.
- 2010 MSA Profile (Metropolitan Area Projections to 2040 - REF HC 106.8 M77 2010
Contains historical data from 1970 and projections to 2040 of population by age and race, employment by industry, retail sales by kind of business, households by income bracket and more.
- 2011 Hamtpon Roads Statistical Digest – Reference HC 107.V8 S73 2011 v.35
Hampton Roads demographics and business statistics.
Searching Tips and Other Information
- EndNote
EndNote is a tool for acquiring, organizing and managing citations. Click for handouts, class schedule and more.
Page Coordinator: Miriam Bridges mbridges@odu.edu
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=85

|