This guide will help you to locate various library and Web resources for finding images, audio, and video to be used for class presentations and assignments. These are only selected resources -- you will find many more on the open Web. Remember to always be aware of the legal aspects of downloading copyrighted material.
Also, remember that as with all sources you use in your research and presentations, you need to evaluate media resources as they apply to your topic. Evaluate for: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose.
- ODU Library Image Resources
For the most part, images from the following library databases may be used for educational and research purposes if properly credited.
- AP Images
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
- CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Provides access to works of art from the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world and covers the complete range of expressive forms. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes at subscribing institutions if they are properly credited.
- Images from ODU Library Databases
Some of our databases include images that you can use for non-commercial, educational purposes. The following is just one example. We also have various historical databases that include images (e.g., American Broadsides and Ephemera).
- Academic Search Complete
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
- For images in EBSCOhost databases, you can:
- Historical databases
Many of our historical databases contain images that can be used according to fair use.
- Images on the open Web
- Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their photographs/images for use by others under a Creative Commons license. You can browse or search through content under each type of license.
- Creative Commons
A way for creators to share their works while maintaining their copyright. "The combination of our tools and our users is a vast and growing digital commons, a pool of content that can be copied, distributed, edited, remixed, and built upon, all within the boundaries of copyright law."
"Everystockphoto.com is a license-specific photo search engine. Currently we index and search millions of freely licensed photos, from many sources, and present them in an integrated search."
- Microsoft Office Images
Don't forget that you can insert images and clip art from the Microsoft Office library into Powerpoint presentations. Office 2010 products include an easy-to-use Screenshot option (Insert/Screenshot/Screen clipping).
- ODU Library Audio Resources
- Diehn Composers Room resources
- Microsoft Office Sounds
Don't forget that you can insert the sounds from the Microsoft Office clip file into Powerpoint presentations.
- Music Online
Provides a comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. The new interface cross-searches the following Alexander Street products—African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and Jazz Music Library. African American Music and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries will be added in early summer 2009.
- Free music for downloading
Bi-weekly downloads from the Music Online collection in classical and world music.
- Music on the open Web
- Community Audio
From the Internet Archive.
Database of creative commons materials.
- Free Music Archive
"The Free Music Archive offers free downloads under Creative Commons and other licenses. Please visit the track page to discover what you can and cannot do with each track."
- ODU Library Video Resources
- Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. These actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience, cover a wide range of 20th century theatre history and represent hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Note: you can’t embed the video into Powerpoint, but you can insert an image from the database and link that back to the video.
- Dance in Video
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Note: you can’t embed the video into Powerpoint, but you can insert an image from the database and link that back to the video.
- PBS Videos
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of outstanding video programming from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). The collection contains 311 titles in 498 program segments varying from 30 minutes to 1 hour in length.
- Britannica Online Academic Edition
In addition to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, this databases also offers a video collecton – "over 3,000 videos and video clips that cover a variety of subjects, including History, Science, the Arts, and Social Studies.... Short video clips are 1-5 minutes long and full length extended play videos are between 15 to 45 minutes long. All videos can be played online or downloaded and used in Power Point Presentations."
Be aware that YouTube videos may disappear, primarily because of copyright violations.
- Creative Commons Video
Partial list of Creative Commons licensed video media compiled from the video blog at creativecommons.org/video.
- Wikimedia Commons
"A database of 10,265,274 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute." Provides public domain and freely-licensed content -- also includes images and sound clips.
- Public Domain Flicks
"Here you can legally download full-length feature films that are in the public domain for free."
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Internet Archive's library of free movies, films, animations, and videos. Look for the Creative Commons License to see if/how you can use the media.
Fee-based collection of stock and news footage.
Copyright Awareness / Citation
- PBS Video
Various selections of video from PBS programs, such as Frontline.
- Copyright 101 Tutorial - BYU
Brigham Young University tutorial includes short videos on copyright issues for students and faculty.
- Campus Downloading Video
This is a video on the legalities of file-sharing music and video.
- Citation Styles Handbook
Summarizes and illustrates the bibliographical formatting rules for two citation styles: the American Psychological Association (APA) style and the Modern Language Association (MLA) style. Maintained by the Writer's Workshop, Center for Writing Studies, University of Illinois.
Off Campus Access to library resources
- Harvard Guide to Using Sources
Guide for citing "Non-Text Sources" in MLA and APA.
When you select an electronic resource (database, journal, etc.) from off campus, you will need to enter your MIDAS login information. Online resources available through the ODU Library web site are limited to currently registered students, staff, and faculty of Old Dominion University due to licensing restrictions.
Page Coordinator: Karen Vaughan email@example.com
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=160