Who is Citing You?
These databases have "cited by" information so you can see what other articles have cited yours.
- Web of Science
One of the first databases to include citation information, Web of Science (aka Web of Knowledge) keeps citation information for journals in the sciences. Top journals in non-science disciplines are also indexed.
PsycINFO allows includes citation information for some articles. PsycINFO started allowing citation searching more recently than Web of Science, and it's "cited by" information is not as complete.
How are Journals Ranked?
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes "cited by" information for records. Google Scholar includes books and other non-journal materials in its citing information. The "cited by" information is often more comprehensive but less well maintained than for other databases.
These resources can help give you an idea about the influence or prestige of journals. Journal rankings can be controversial and should be used cautiously.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Uses citation information to measure research influence and impact of journals.
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunites
Intended to help scholars choose publishers for their articles, Cabell's includes information about acceptance rates. These may be useful in assessing how competitive a specific journal is (lower acceptance rates = more competitive).
Linking to Journal Articles with Digital Object Identifiers
- ERA Ranked Journal List
Created by the the Australian Research Council, this site rates journals and conferences. Each is given a quality rating expressed as a letter grade. Current list is from 2010.
Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) can be used to create permanent links to articles from their publishers.
Tools for Keeping Track of Your Publications
The website that administers DOIs.
From the makers of Web of Science, ResearcherID can make it easier for others to find your publications and view their citation statistics.
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=181