- Books in Print
Offers valuable information on more than 7.5 million U.S. book, audio book, and video titles, as well as 12 million international titles, making it the largest bibliographic database to the industry. Available in web and print formats, this indispensable resource for booksellers, publishers, and librarians also offers: reviews; tables of contents; full-text previews; cover images; author biographies; awards information; annotations; and much more.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on periodicals published throughout the world.
- Biography in Context
Provides nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography, bringing users face to face with historical figures and today’s most studied newsmakers via videos, audios and images. Includes multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives through the Lives & Perspectives Collection.
- Contemporary Authors - Literature Resource Center
Included as part of the Literature Resource Center database. Results from Author search will include link to Contemporary Authors. The Literature Resource Center provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Citation Style Guides
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
- Citation Styles Handbook
Summarizes and illustrates the bibliographical formatting rules for two citation styles: the American Psychological Association (APA) style and the Modern Language Association (MLA) style. Maintained by the Writer's Workshop, Center for Writing Studies, University of Illinois.
- Citing Information
Offers many detailed examples of citations using APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, and CBE Citation Style. Also gives advice on avoiding plagiarism. From UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries.
- APA Style-University of Wisconsin
Provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2010). These materials will introduce you to APA documentation and show you examples which you can use as templates for citing your own references.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Covers the basics of formatting a paper and citing references. Provided by Purdue University Online Writing Lab.
- Turabian Style
Highlights elements of citing references using the principles of Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 5th ed., and the Chicago Manual of Style, 14th ed. Provided by the University of Wisconsin Writing Center.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Includes the Oxford English Dictionary, and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which contains almost the entire vocabulary of English, from Old English to the present day. Also offers publicly available editorial features, providing guides to the OED content and regular commentaries on topical issues in the story of the English language.
Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Almanacs
- American Library Directory
Provides detailed profiles for more than 35,000 public, academic, special and government libraries, and library-related organizations in the United States, and Canada. Includes addresses, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail addresses, network participation, expenditures, holdings and special collections, key personnel, special services and more. Allows 1 user at a time.
- Britannica Online Academic Edition
Provides access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools including an atlas, biographies, news, and multimedia. Also contains a comprehensive database of statistics on every nation of the world, and 225 classic works by 140 authors that offer an introduction to significant works of history, literature, philosophy, and science.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For some titles there may be a more recent edition in print format.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, plus more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
- Sage Reference Online
Provides access to 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
- World Almanac
Contains biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts and statistics on a wide range of subjects.
- Columbia World of Quotations
Contains thousands of essential quotations from authors and speakers, classified into many subjects.
Contains a large collection of quotations divided by topic and author, as well as the text of historical documents.
- The Quotations Page
Contains thousands of quotations, including Quotes of the Day, Motivational Quotes of the Day, and collections of quotations by author and by subject.
Page Coordinator: Nancy Schafer firstname.lastname@example.org
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=29