Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks
Contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army between 1986 and 1998. Each of the 102 studies offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security. The series is not all-inclusive. Notable omissions include Canada, France, the United Kingdom, and other Western nations, as well as a number of African nations. Country Profiles offer brief updates on selected countries.
Europa World Plus
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries. Online version: ODU only.
International Documents Task Force
Provides guides and web links to information related to foreign national governments, intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental organizations.
Produces social and economic statistics on Canada. In addition to conducting a Census every five years, there are about 350 active surveys on virtually all aspects of Canadian life.
World Development Indicators
Economic development data compiled by the World Bank. The 2009 WDI includes more than 800 indicators in over 90 tables organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. Online version: ODU Only.
Provides basic data and profiles on foreign nations, including geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation and military. Published by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
World News Connection
Contains fulltext translations of political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books from around the world. Allows 1 user at a time. ODU Only
Page Coordinator: Nancy Schafer firstname.lastname@example.org
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=40