Old Dominion University Libraries

Contents of this page:

Find Articles Using Databases

Internet Resources

Multimedia Materials

Reference Resources

Printer-friendly version of this page

 

Selected Resources for: Art and Architecture

RSS feed for this guide RSS feed of this page
(Display only the highlighted/core resources).

Subject Librarian:

Find Articles Using Databases

    Academic or Scholarly

  Art Full Text Authentication Required 
    1984 - present
Art Full Text features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
  ARTbibliographies Modern Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1974 - present
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
  Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanities disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
  Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1934 - present
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
  Bibliography of the History of Art Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1990 - 2009
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
  DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1973 - present
Contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
  International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
The International Bibliography of the History of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes the most recent indexing created by the Getty Research Institute for the BHA during 2008-2009.
  JSTOR Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. New Feature--JStor now offers access to Early Journal Content(pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).

Internet Resources

    Agency or Organization Web Sites

  ArtPromote.com
Explore thousands of online exhibitions, image collections, museums, and related resources arranged by theme, medium, movement, region and more.
  Burlington Magazine Index
    Content up to December, 1997
The Burlington Magazine has produced their own index with content up to December, 1997.
  Chrysler Art Museum
Housed in an Italianate-style building facing the Hague Inlet of the Elizabeth River, the Chrysler Museum of Art is home to an encyclopedic collection of nearly 40,000 objects spanning nearly 5,000 years of history. The museum also houses one of the most significant art libraries in the South.
  Metropolitan Museum of Art: Timeline of Art History
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection, is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. The timeline features thematic essays, works of art and indexes.
  Society of Architectural Historians
Offers publications, educational opportunities, local group information, and more on the preservation of significant architectural monuments. Sponsored by the Society of Architectural Historians.

Multimedia Materials

    Images

  ARTstor Authentication Required 
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
  CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
    Prehistory - Contemporary
Provides access to works of art from the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world and covers the complete range of expressive forms. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes at subscribing institutions if they are properly credited.
  europeana.eu
Europeana.eu contains approximately 6 million digital items captured from paintings, sound recordings, films, and texts from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives, and museums.
  Panormas.dk
Browseable archive of high quality QTVR panoramas representing all subject areas, including art and architectectural history. Panoramas may be downloaded or used within image presentation tools.
  Real? Virtual : Representing Architectural Time and Space
Maintained by Columbia University, the site presents interactive panoramas for important buildings ranging from the Parthenon in Athens to Le Corbusier's Church of Notre-Dame du Haut in Ronchamp. The site attempts to collect and organize new media resources for the teaching of architectural history as it is practiced in American schools.
  The Great Buildings Collection
The database features over 800 buildings which can be searched by a variety of categories such as period style, building type, date, climate, country, locational context or architectural feature.
  World Images
WorldImages provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains over 60,000 images which may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images are organized into approximately 600 subject grouping portfolios.

Reference Resources

    Almanacs and Encyclopedias

  Art History Resources on the Web
Contains an encyclopedic, chronological and thematic collection of art historical images and texts.
  Grove Art Online Authentication Required 
    Prehistory - present
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles and extensive image links. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.

    Newspapers

  19th Century British Library Newspapers
    1800 - 1900
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
  LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Consult LexisNexis Help pages.
  The Times Digital Archive Authentication Required New resource 
    1785 - 1985
Contains full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page from The Times (London).The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.