Old Dominion University Libraries

Contents of this page:

Find Articles Using Databases

Find Books and Dissertations

Internet Resources

Multimedia Materials

Primary Source Materials

Reference Resources

Printer-friendly version of this page

 

Selected Resources for: Communication

RSS feed for this guide RSS feed of this page
(Display only the highlighted/core resources).

Subject Librarian: Elizabeth Hogue

librarian picture
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Find Articles Using Databases

    Academic or Scholarly

  Academic Search Complete Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1887-present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
  ComAbstracts Authentication Required 
    Coverage varies by journal
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available.
  Communication and Mass Media Complete Authentication Required 
    Coverage varies by journal
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
  ERIC Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1966 - present
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.
  Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
    Coverage varies
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes nearly 100 books, Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present, and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
  LexisNexis Academic Authentication Required 
    Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Consult LexisNexis Help pages.
  PsycINFO Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database. NOTE: The EBSCO version of this database is no longer available.

    Discipline Specific

  ArtsJournal New resource 
The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture.
  Intellect Arts and Creative Media Collection
Covers creative media, such as: art, film, television, design, education, language, gender study, and international culture. It comprises 20 journal titles representing a comprehensive overview of emerging ideas on performance arts and cinema. The journals are available on the Ovid platform, but must be searched individually from this page. The majority of these titles are also available through several of the EBSCO databases: Academic Search Complete, Communications and Mass Media Complete, Film & Television Literature Index, as well as the Art Full Text database.

Find Books and Dissertations

    Catalogs

  ODU Library Catalog
The library's online catalog includes information on books, media, periodical subscriptions, and a variety of U.S. government publications. In using the online catalog, you may search by author, title, or keyword, in addition to other ways. The Library of Congress general classification for communication topics is PN. The breakdown is as follows: P 87-96 Communication and mass media PN 4001-4355 Oratory, elocution, recitation, etc. Also note: P 99.5 and BF 637 .N66 Nonverbal communication Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

Internet Resources

    Agency or Organization Web Sites

  Communication & Theatre Arts, College of Arts & Letters, Old Dominion University
Links to the department's home page, which has information about communications and theatre arts degrees, courses, faculty and more.

    Portal

  COMFILE!
Includes links to communication and related sites compiled by John Reinard, faculty at California State University, Fullerton.
  Kurylo's Communication Links Index
Includes over 350 website links to various communication resources and organizations.
  Links to Resources from Univ. of Iowa, Dept. of Communication Studies
Includes a rich resource for communication web links from the University of Iowa.
  MRQE - Movie Review Query
Popular review source for movies, DVD's, independent films, and TV.
  The Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Premier reviewing source for movies past and present.
  Vocational Information Center: Communication Skills
Focuses on writing skills in communication and includes dozens of web links.

    Scholarly Work

  Encyclopedia of Television
Includes more than 1000 original essays compiled by the Museum of Broadcast Communications that examine specific programs, people, and trends. Includes resource materials, photos and bibliographic information.

Multimedia Materials

    Mixed

  Archive of American Television New resource 
The online resource for the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation. Includes over 600 interviews with well-established TV personalities. Interviews are indexed by shows, people, topics, and genres.

Primary Source Materials

    Historical Materials

  Ad*Access
Contains images of over 7000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company collection held by Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
  American Memory
Provides full text documents, books, images, audio files, and other resources on American history from the Library of Congress.
  Internet Moving Images Archive New resource 
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. This is a subset of the Internet Archive, a nonprofit founded to build an internet archive.

Reference Resources

    Almanacs and Encyclopedias

  International Encyclopedia of Communication
Available in print in the Perry Library reference room. REF P87.5 .I58 2008
  International Encyclopedia of Communication Online New resource 
This is the online version to the print edition of The International Encyclopedia of Communication. Updated twice a year. Stay on the cutting edge of developments in the field of communication.