Old Dominion University Libraries

Contents of this page:

Find Articles Using Databases

Find Books and Dissertations

Internet Resources

Reference Resources

Printer-friendly version of this page

 

Selected Resources for: Human Movement Sciences

RSS feed for this guide RSS feed of this page
(Display only the highlighted/core resources).

Subject Librarian:

Find Articles Using Databases

    Academic or Scholarly

  ABI/Inform Global Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1971 - present
Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research. Includes sports business and management.
  Academic Search Complete Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1887-present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
  CINAHL Plus with Full Text Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1937 - present
Provides full text for over 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. Contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937. The database also provides full text for more than 220 books/monographs. For more information on how to use CINAHL, see CINAHL Help Sheets & User Guides.
  Hospitality & Tourism Complete Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1965 - present
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Publications include periodicals, company and country reports, and books. Coverage is both domestic and international, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
  Physical Education Index Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1970 - present
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press, featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
  PsycINFO Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database. NOTE: The EBSCO version of this database is no longer available.
  PubMed (Medline and more)
    1950 - present
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. NLM's PubMed Tutorial.
  SPORTDiscus with Full Text Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1800 - present
Offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
  Web of Science Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the online version of Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present(includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Recordas part of the ISI Web of Knowledge. For more information, consult the Web of Science Tutorial.

Find Books and Dissertations

    Catalogs

  ODU Library Catalog
The Library of Congress classification for Human Movement Sciences is:
QP300- ; RD700-Biomechanics
RC1210; RD700- Sports Medicine
GV1-200Recreation, Leisure Studies, Tourism
GV700-Sports Management
  WorldCat Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    Current
Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.

    Dissertations and Theses

  Dissertations & Theses Full Text Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
    1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.

Internet Resources

    Agency or Organization Web Sites

  Association for Applied Sport Psychology
An excellent website that provides resources and articles related to sport and exercise psychology.
  Disabled Sports USA
    Current
Provides information about the organization including chapters and events, and offers access to the magazine, Challenge.
  Injury Related Websites
    Current
Lists organizations and websites dedicated to injury prevention. Sponsored by the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control.
  North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM)
A society whose purpose is "to promote, stimulate, and encourage study, research, scholarly writing, and professional development in the area of sport management - both theoretical and applied aspects."
  World Tourism Organization
    Current
Includes statistics, policy, news and project information from the leading international organization in the field of travel and tourism. The WTO is vested by the United Nations with a central and decisive role in promoting the development of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism.

    Lesson Plans

  PE Central
    Current
Contains a large number of resources for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students.

    Scholarly Work

  Scholarly Sports Sites
Indexes websites for the serious sports researcher, kinesiology librarian, sport information specialist, college/university student and faculty.

    Search Engines

  Lifestyle Information Network
    Current
Provides a knowledge exchange for practitioners and organizations in recreation and sport. Home of Canada's National Recreation Database.

    Web Sites

  The Business of Sports
A blog dedicated to news and opinion related to the business side of sports.
  Work in Sports
An online job board for jobs in the Sports Industry.

Reference Resources

    Almanacs and Encyclopedias

  Sage Reference Online Authentication Required 
Provides access to 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.

    Directories

  Sports Market Place Directory Authentication Required New resource 
    Current
Provides current key information about the people, organizations and events involving the explosive sports industry.

    Rankings

  Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Authentication Required 
    2005 - 2009
Offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals. Provides quantifiable statistical information based on citation data. Helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationships between citing and cited journals. For more information on using Journal Citation Reports, consult the tutorial.