Find Articles Using Databases Academic or Scholarly | |
 |
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1937 - present Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature.
For more information on how to use CINAHL, see
CINAHL Help Sheets & User Guides. Tutorials are also available: CINAHL with Full Text: Basic Searching; CINAHL Plus with Full Text Advanced Searching;
Using CINAHL and Mesh Headings. NOTE:
tutorials are under 6 minutes long and use Flash and Javascript. |
| |
 |
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Current Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Tutorial. |
| |
 |
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews Multifile
Coverage varies by database Allows you to search simultaneously the four Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club (ACP), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register-CCTR)(CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE). Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time across all four databases. |
| |
 |
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Coverage varies by journal Includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. |
| |
 |
Mosby's Nursing Consult
Coverage varies by resource Includes Nursing reference books, journals, drug information, patient education materials, drug calculators, clinical updates, practice guidelines, images, and Nursing-related news. |
| |
 |
PILOTS
1871 - present Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. |
| |
 |
PsycINFO
1887 - present Contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. |
| |
 |
PubMed (Medline and more)
1950 - present PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
NLM's PubMed Tutorial. |
| |
 |
Science Direct
Coverage varies by journal Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences. |
Discipline Specific | |
 |
APA PsycNET
1887-present Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. |
Find Books and Dissertations Catalogs | |
 |
ODU Library Catalog
To see what Perry Library owns or has access to.
The Library of Congress classification for Nursing is RT 1-120; for Nursing Specialties: RT89-120 |
| |
 |
WorldCat
Current Worldwide library catalog. |
Dissertations and Theses | |
 |
Dissertations & Theses Full Text
1861 - present Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows access to the citations and abstracts of ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format (when available). |
eBooks | |
 |
e-Books Via Mosby's Nursing Consult
Fulltext electronic books available via Mosby's Nursing Consult. |
| |
 |
NCBI Bookshelf
Current Provides a growing, searchable collection of biomedical books. |
| |
 |
R2 Digital Library
Coverage varies The R2 Digital Library includes over 70 electronic books in Nursing, Allied Health, and Medicine. |
Internet Resources Agency or Organization Web Sites
| |
 |
Joanna Briggs Institute
"The Joanna Briggs Institute is an International not-for-profit Research and Development Organisation specialising in Evidence-Based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health." |
Portal | |
 |
MedlinePlus Health Information
Health Information via the National Library of Medicine. |
| |
 |
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Provides evidence-based clinical guidelines in medical and related fields. |
Web Sites
| |
 |
CEBM Centre for Evidence Based Medicine
EBM tools from the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. |
| |
 |
Drug Information Portal
Drug information on over 18,000 drugs (as of December 2009). Non-US drugs are included, but not as completely. From the National Library of Medicine. |
| |
 |
Hardin MD Medical Pictures/Disease Pictures
Contains links to medical pictures on the Web. Also includes a Medical Gallery of images hosted by Hardin MD. |
| |
 |
Trip Database--Clinical Search Engine
TRIP Databases is a clinical search tool. |
Multimedia Materials Mixed | |
 |
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination: volumes 1-18, full series
NOTE: Requires Microsoft Internet Explorer and Windows Media Player.
Location: Internet |
Reference Resources Almanacs and Encyclopedias
Citation Style Manuals
| |
 |
APA Style-University of Wisconsin
Provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2010). These materials will introduce you to APA documentation and show you examples which you can use as templates for citing your own references. |
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Guides | |
 |
Accessing Perry Library’s Online Journals Guide
Have a journal citation and want to check if the Library has the full text article? Need to check if the Library has a particular journal? This guide provides step by step instructions on using the Find Journals and Newspapers feature on the Library's website. |
| |
 |
EndNote@Old Dominion University Libraries
EndNote is a tool for acquiring, organizing and managing citations. |
| |
 |
Guide to Finding Tests and Measurements
A guide to finding listings, reviews and full text of tests and measurements. Created by ODU Librarians. |
| |
 |
Research Instruments and Questionnaires in CINAHL. From the Duke University Medical Center Library
Helpful tips on how to find information on research instruments and questionnaires in the CINAHL database. |
Rankings | |
 |
America's Best Hospitals
From U.S.News and World Report. |
| |
 |
Hospital Compare
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. |
Statistics and Data Statistical Resources | |
 |
FEDSTATS
Provides easy access via the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy to the full range of statistics and information produced by federal agencies for public use. |
| |
 |
National Center for Health Statistics
Current The nation's principle health statistics agency compiles information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the people. |
| |
 |
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides timely, relevant, and quality data about the people and economy of the United States. |
|