Find Articles Using Databases Academic or Scholarly | |
 |
ACP Journal Club
1991 - present Consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine. |
| |
 |
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1937 - present Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. For more information on how to use CINAHL, see
CINAHL Help Sheets & User Guides. |
| |
 |
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Current Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Tutorial. |
| |
 |
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
1966 - present Covers the dental literature, including general and pediatric dentistry, endodontics, odontology, dental public health, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, and periodontology. The Journal of Dental Research is full text back to 1919.
|
| |
 |
ERIC
1966 - present Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Via the EbscoHost interface. |
| |
 |
ERIC (CSA)
1966 - present Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Via the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts interface. |
| |
 |
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Coverage varies by journal Includes the full text of 26 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. |
| |
 |
PubMed (Medline and more)
1950 - present PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
NLM's PubMed Tutorial. |
Discipline Specific | |
 |
APA PsycNET
1887-present Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. |
| |
 |
Sociological Abstracts
1952 - present Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. |
Find Books and Dissertations Catalogs | |
 |
ODU Library Catalog
To see what Perry Library owns or has access to.
The Library of Congress classification for Dental Hygiene is RK; for medicine the classification is R. |
| |
 |
WorldCat
Current Worldwide Library Catalog. |
Dissertations and Theses | |
 |
Dissertations & Theses Full Text
1861 - present Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows access to the citations and abstracts of ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format (when available). |
eBooks | |
 |
NCBI Bookshelf
Current Provides a growing, searchable collection of biomedical books. |
| |
 |
R2 Digital Library
Coverage varies The R2 Digital Library includes over 70 electronic books in Nursing, Allied Health, and Medicine. |
Internet Resources Agency or Organization Web Sites
| |
 |
Virginia Department of Health
Current Coordinates all health-related state programs and health research. |
| |
 |
Virginia Department of Health Professions
Current Works to assure the safe and competent delivery of health care to the citizens of Virginia through the process of examining, licensing and disciplining health care practitioners. |
Maps | |
 |
HealthMap
A global disease map."HealthMap provides a jumping-off point for real-time information on emerging infectious diseases and has particular interest for public health officials and international travelers." |
Portal | |
 |
Institute of Medicine of the National Academies
A non-profit organization that offers science-based advice on matters of biomedical science, medicine and health. Select the Reports tab at the top of IOM's homepage to view reports online. |
| |
 |
MedlinePlus Health Information
Health Information via the National Library of Medicine. |
Web Sites
Multimedia Materials Mixed | |
 |
Anatomy TV: Dental Hygiene
Current Provides clear, detailed and accurate 3D modeling of the head, oral and nasal cavities, dentition, and individual teeth. Maximum of 5 simultaneous users. Subscription limited to Dental Hygiene product. |
Reference Resources Almanacs and Encyclopedias
Citation Style Manuals
| |
 |
APA Style-University of Wisconsin
Provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2010). These materials will introduce you to APA documentation and show you examples which you can use as templates for citing your own references. |
Dictionaries and Thesauri
Guides | |
 |
EndNote@Old Dominion University Libraries
EndNote is a tool for acquiring, organizing and managing citations. |
| |
 |
Finding Information on Tests/Instruments/Measures in Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Tips on how to find information on research instruments, tests and measures in the Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source database. |
| |
 |
Guide to Finding Tests and Measurements
A guide to finding listings, reviews and full text of tests and measurements. Created by ODU Librarians. |
| |
 |
Research Instruments and Questionnaires in CINAHL. From the Duke University Medical Center Library
Helpful tips on how to find information on research instruments and questionnaires in the CINAHL database. |
Statistics and Data Statistical Resources | |
 |
FEDSTATS
Provides easy access via the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy to the full range of statistics and information produced by federal agencies for public use. |
| |
 |
National Center for Health Statistics
Current The nation's principle health statistics agency compiles information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the people. |
Primary Subject Location(s)
Patricia W. and J. Douglas Perry Library
|