<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="0.91">
<channel>
<title>Sociology</title>
	<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rqs.phtml?subject_id=38</link>
	<description>

 Reference Desk: (757) 683-4178 
 Send a message to  Ask-A- Librarian 
 Request a Research Consultation

 








</description>
	<language>en-us</language>
	<copyright>Some Library, 2005</copyright>
	<webMaster></webMaster>
	<image>
		<title>Libdata Lists</title>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/</link>
		<width>100</width>
		<height>40</height>
		<description>RSS feed for Some Library</description>
	</image>
	<item>
		<title>Academic Search Complete</title>
		<description>Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=20&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts</title>
		<description>Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently contains records from journals published in many different countries, including the UK and US.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=232&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>CQ Electronic Library</title>
		<description>Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=214&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text</title>
		<description>Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=55&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Gender Studies Database</title>
		<description>Combines Women&#039;s Studies International and Men&#039;s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=264&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>JSTOR</title>
		<description>Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts &amp; Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health &amp; General Sciences, Language &amp; Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.  New Feature--JStor now offers access to Early Journal Content(pre-1870 and pre-1923-present). </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=140&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>LexisNexis Academic</title>
		<description>Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Consult LexisNexis Help pages.

</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=142&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>PAIS International</title>
		<description>PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies and more, on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=198&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Popline</title>
		<description>The world&#039;s largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID). </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=564&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>PsycINFO</title>
		<description>Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database. NOTE:  The EBSCO version of this database is no longer available.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=200&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Science Direct</title>
		<description>Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=32&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Social Sciences Citation Index</title>
		<description>Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world&#039;s leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=33&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Social Services Abstracts</title>
		<description>Abstracts current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=358&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Sociological Abstracts</title>
		<description>Abstracts journal articles from serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=57&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Web of Science</title>
		<description>Provides access to the online version of Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present(includes Archives); Social Science &amp; Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Recordas part of the ISI Web of Knowledge. For more information, consult the Web of Science Tutorial.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=143&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Women&#039;s Studies International</title>
		<description>Covers the core disciplines in Women&#039;s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites &amp; Web documents, and grey literature.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=297&amp;infotype_id=18&amp;masterinfotype_id=3</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>ODU Library Catalog</title>
		<description></description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=25&amp;infotype_id=24&amp;masterinfotype_id=4</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>WorldCat</title>
		<description>Contains records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=26&amp;infotype_id=24&amp;masterinfotype_id=4</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Dissertations &amp; Theses Full Text</title>
		<description>Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master&#039;s theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations &amp; Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=177&amp;infotype_id=143&amp;masterinfotype_id=4</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Population Action International</title>
		<description>Publications library includes documentaries, reports, working papers, etc.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=563&amp;infotype_id=87&amp;masterinfotype_id=11</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Population Reference Bureau</title>
		<description>Informs people about the population dimensions of important social, economic, and political issues; provides timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=35&amp;infotype_id=87&amp;masterinfotype_id=11</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Social Science Research Network eLibrary</title>
		<description>SSRN&#039;s eLibrary contains over 290,000 documents and 138,000 authors.  Search by title, author, abstract or keyword.  Many papers include links to references and cites by other authors.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=1041&amp;infotype_id=87&amp;masterinfotype_id=11</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Green Book</title>
		<description>Provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics including poverty, families with children, child support and the elderly. Chapters of the new 2008 Green Book are released on the House Committee on Ways and Means website as they become available.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=448&amp;infotype_id=139&amp;masterinfotype_id=5</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology</title>
		<description>Over 18,000 entries updated three times a year; includes a timeline of major events.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=451&amp;infotype_id=2&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Sage Reference Online</title>
		<description>Provides access to 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged &amp; Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender &amp; Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work &amp; Social Policy, and Sociology. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=947&amp;infotype_id=2&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Biography in Context </title>
		<description>Provides nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography, bringing users face to face with historical figures and today&#146;s most studied newsmakers via videos, audios and images. Includes multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives through the Lives &amp; Perspectives Collection. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=1114&amp;infotype_id=7&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>SocioSite: Famous Sociologists</title>
		<description>Contains biographies, bibliographies about and by, principle theories and published works of a large number of sociologists. Also includes references and links to other sociology and social sciences websites. Maintained by the University of Amsterdam.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=449&amp;infotype_id=7&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>American Sociological Association Style Guide</title>
		<description></description>
		<link></link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>APA Formatting and Style Guide (from the OWL at Purdue)</title>
		<description></description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=767&amp;infotype_id=169&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>APA Style-University of Wisconsin</title>
		<description>Provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2010). These materials will introduce you to APA documentation and show you examples which you can use as templates for citing your own references. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=754&amp;infotype_id=169&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)</title>
		<description>From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).  Examples using the ASA 3rd edition.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=1099&amp;infotype_id=169&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Turabian Style  </title>
		<description>Highlights elements of citing references using the principles of Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 5th ed., and the Chicago Manual of Style, 14th ed. Provided by the University of Wisconsin Writing Center. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=766&amp;infotype_id=169&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Turabian Syle Guide</title>
		<description>From Ohio State University.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=955&amp;infotype_id=169&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>EndNote@Old Dominion University Libraries</title>
		<description>EndNote is a tool for acquiring, organizing and managing citations.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=908&amp;infotype_id=142&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>National Network of State Polls</title>
		<description>Hosted by The Odum Institute at UNC Chapel Hill, this database contains individual survey questions as well as complete surveys from various groups dating back to the 1960&#039;s.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=562&amp;infotype_id=11&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>SAGE encyclopedia of social science research methods / Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim F </title>
		<description></description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=565&amp;infotype_id=178&amp;masterinfotype_id=2</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>SAGE handbook of applied social research methods / Leonard Bickman, Debra J. Rog, editors. </title>
		<description>The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods provides students and researchers with resources covering core methods, research designs, and data collection, management, and analysis issues.</description>
		<link></link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Historical Census Browser</title>
		<description>Presents data that describes the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960.  From the University of Virginia.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=450&amp;infotype_id=32&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>UNdata</title>
		<description>Includes 22 searchable databases, a glossary, a wiki with information about the data available, and more.
</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=456&amp;infotype_id=32&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>American FactFinder</title>
		<description>Contains population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Decennial Census, Economic Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Population Estimates Program of the U.S. Census Bureau.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=352&amp;infotype_id=66&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>ICPSR -- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research</title>
		<description>Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR&#039;s data holdings, divided into 17 broad subject areas, are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization, with over 640 member colleges and universities around the world.  First time users must create an account.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=335&amp;infotype_id=66&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>FEDSTATS</title>
		<description>Provides easy access via the Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy to the full range of statistics and information produced by federal agencies for public use. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=50&amp;infotype_id=34&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>NationMaster.com</title>
		<description>Provides worldwide statistics from a wide variety of sources including CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, the World Bank, and OECD in various fields and country comparisons with capabilities to create graphs, charts, and maps. </description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=411&amp;infotype_id=34&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>Statistical Abstract of the United States</title>
		<description>Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=416&amp;infotype_id=34&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>VASTAT: Virginia Statistics</title>
		<description>Contains a wide variety of statistical data on Virginia from the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service at the University of Virginia.</description>
		<link>http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rslink.phtml?subject_id=38&amp;resource_id=454&amp;infotype_id=34&amp;masterinfotype_id=7</link>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>